Logo




Subscribe:
RSS 2.0 | Atom 1.0
Categories:

Sign In


[Giagnocavo]Michael::Write()

 Thursday, December 02, 2004
Security FUD: Internet Security Foundation

Security sells quite now, and lots of companies like to cash in by making up fake security threats, and then selling a “solution“. One such company is the “Internet Security Foundation“ which is just a clever marketing name for “Some Lame Company Trying to Sell Free Tools“.

When you goto the site (InternetSecurityFoundation.org), they make a big deal and a fake security alert from Sept. 2004 that you can see the text in a textbox, even if Windows renders it as asterisks. Anyone who programs understands this. These people pretend it's some kind of new threat and that terrorists are using it over the Internet to rob bank acounts. What a load of crap!

Why do they do this? They want to sell you “SeePassword“ (SeePassword.com), a $20 utility to do the same thing as the free Glow Password Recovery Util (download: Glow.exe (14.5 KB)) -- or similar programs, which have been around for YEARS.

The REAL issue lies in each individual program passing around passwords in plaintext. If a password is sitting in a user's memory space, in plain text, then why is it a surprise that it can be seen? Oh wait, it's not a surprise. This company is just using security for marketing.

Oh, and interesting info on their domain name registration. Perhaps I shall give them a call.

Registrant:
   KMGI Corp.
   119 72 St., 339
   New York, New York 10023
   United States

   Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
   Domain Name: INTERNETSECURITYFOUNDATION.ORG
      Created on: 29-Oct-04
      Expires on: 29-Oct-05
      Last Updated on: 29-Oct-04

   Administrative Contact:
      Corp., KMGI  ak@kmgi.com
      119 72 St., 339
      New York, New York 10023
      United States
      17032427114      Fax -- 12122024982
   Technical Contact:
      Corp., KMGI  ak@kmgi.com
      119 72 St., 339
      New York, New York 10023
      United States
      17032427114      Fax -- 12122024982

   Domain servers in listed order:
      NS2.KMGI.BIZ
      NS3.KMGI.BIZ

Edit: Fix .com to .org (Although both appeared to be registered by the same thing).

Security
Thursday, December 02, 2004 1:04:21 AM UTC  #    Comments [2]  |  Trackback Tracked by:
"http://adet8cv.biz/florence-public-schools.html" (http://adet8cv.biz/florence-p... [Pingback]
"http://sj1uiza.biz/aol-web-accelerator.html" (http://sj1uiza.biz/aol-web-accele... [Pingback]


Thursday, December 02, 2004 4:00:32 PM UTC
And if you search for reviews of thier "Eliminate Spam" product, you'll find some unhappy customers. For example:
http://w3.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff77329.htm
Friday, December 24, 2004 6:33:47 PM UTC
Oh, and interesting info on their domain name registration. Perhaps I shall give them a call.

Registrant:
KMGI Corp.
119 72 St., 339
New York, New York 10023
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: INTERNETSECURITYFOUNDATION.ORG
Created on: 29-Oct-04
Expires on: 29-Oct-05
Last Updated on: 29-Oct-04

Administrative Contact:
Corp., KMGI ak@kmgi.com
119 72 St., 339
New York, New York 10023
United States
17032427114 Fax -- 12122024982
Technical Contact:
Corp., KMGI ak@kmgi.com
119 72 St., 339
New York, New York 10023
United States
17032427114 Fax -- 12122024982

Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.KMGI.BIZ
NS3.KMGI.BIZ

Edit: Fix .com to .org (Although both appeared to be registered by the same thing).

Security
12/1/2004 7:04:21 PM (Central America Standard Time, UTC-06:00)
Comments [1] | Trackback


12/2/2004 10:00:32 AM (Central America Standard Time, UTC-06:00)
And if you search for reviews of thier "Eliminate Spam" product, you'll find some unhappy customers. For example:
http://w3.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff77329.htm


What does anyone think about the security of Gmail. Dan Ostermayer is giving away free gmail invites at http://www.danostermayer.info and I just wondered if the AdSense program could be exploiteed to read people's email. If this is so I definitely won't pick up an invite.
Name
E-mail
Home page

Comment (HTML not allowed)  

Enter the code shown (prevents robots):

Live Comment Preview